Knut Olaf Sunde – Comfort Music

Composition and concept: Knut Olaf Sunde
When: September 14. 2015
Where: Oslo, Vulkan Arena and Åsen nødsentral
Musicians: Ensemble Aksiom. Saxophone: Fredrik Brandstorp Olsen. Trombone: Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø. Percussion: Anders Kregnes Hansen and Petter Haukaas. Piano: Jonas Cambien. Guitar: Ole Martin Huser-Olsen. Violin: Vilde Sandve Alnæs. Cello: Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald. Double bass: Christian Meaas Svendsen. Conductor: Kai Grinde Myrann
Collaborators: Telenor Kulturarv and Telemuseet
Producer: Ultima Oslo contemporary festival
Commissioned by: Oslo Sinfonietta and Notam
Notam: Technical development, electronic sound, multichannel loudspeaker rig by Thom Johansen, Asbjørn Flø, Magnus Bugge, Koka Nikoladze and Cato Langnes
Supported by: Arts council Norway

Knut Olaf Sunde is a composer and fellow at the Norwegian academy of music. In this concert performance, he continued his work on a theme he has studied in several contexts, namely the ways in which location and characteristics influence and create conditions for listening.

In a staged fiction, the audience according to certain criteria got divided in two groups. A larger group went to the concert hall at Vulkan Arena where they could see and hear the live performance, while around 30 people got bussed to the defunct “Åsen nødsentral”, an emergency center in a bunker at Torshov. Here they experienced the same work, transferred from the concert hall, in quite claustrophobic and alarming circumstances. The two public groups were brought together at the conclusion of the work.

This was a performative and interactive concert installation with musicians, speakers, telephonic technology and more.

Video: Roar Midtlien

Photo: Henrik Beck/ Oslo Ultima contemporary festival